Databases
HCH offers links to numerous searchable databases listed below.
Please note: these links will launch new browser windows, taking you outside the Henry Carter Hull Library website. You may simply close the window when finished.
eLibrary contains
contains millions of documents, all displayed in 100 percent full
text! Search 600 magazine and newspaper titles, TV, radio, and
government transcripts, books, reference collections, photographs,
images and maps. Your 14 digit
number on your Library Card is your ID number.
Newsstand
by ProQuest Full text articles from: Christian Science Monitor, Hartford
Courant, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, New York Times Book Review,
New York Times Magazine, Wall Street Journal and the Washington Post.
You may also search the newspapers individually by clicking on the links below:
- The Boston Globe (1980-current)
- Christian Science Monitor (1988-current)
- The Hartford Courant 1992-Current Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community.
- The Historical Hartford Courant Search the earliest years of the Hartford Courant from the first issue published in October 1764 through 1922. Find articles and images that relate CT and national history.
- Los Angeles Times (1985-current)
- New York Times (1999 - current) Search the New York Times electronically by title, headline, date, author, or section. Full text articles are available here.
- Washington Post (1987-current)
- Wall Street Journal (1984-current)
Ancestry Library Edition
Ancestry® Library Edition has unparalleled coverage of the United States and the United Kingdom, including census, vital, church, court, and immigration records, as well as record collections from Canada and other areas. The Ancestry Library Edition collection has approximately 4,000 databases including key collections such as U.S. Federal Census images and indexes from 1790 to 1930; the Map Center containing more than 1,000 historical maps; American Genealogical Biographical Index (over 200 volumes); Daughters of the American Revolution Lineage (over 150 volumes); The Great Migration Begins: Immigrants to New England, 1620-1630; Social Security Death Index (updated monthly); WWI Draft Registration Cards; Federal Slave Narratives; and a strong Civil War collection. Ancestry Library Edition updates continually, with more indexes and original images added all the time. Click here for a tutorial.
The
following
links open to an iCONN.org password
page where
you type your library barcode for access to
the list of databases available through iCONN — Connecticut’s
Research Engine.
- Associated
Press Photo Archive Online AP
Press archive is an electronic library containing the AP’s current year
photo report and a selection of images from their vast negative and print
library dating from the 1840s. Coverage 1840 - present.
- HeritageQuest Online Researchers use HeritageQuest to find their ancestors, trace their paths across America and learn what life was like in the areas they settled. HeritageQuest Online also contains U.S. federal census records in digital format.
- Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module Use this database to research topics in health and medicine, medications, wellness, and alternative/ complementary therapies. Includes encyclopedias, directories, medical dictionary, magazines, journals, and newspapers
- Junior Reference Collection (for Jr. High and Middle School students) 1989 - Current. The Junior Reference Collection is a comprehensive, cross-curricular research tool that combines many different sources into one database that is simple to navigate, easy to comprehend, and supports classroom learning.
- Student Resource Center (aimed at High School Students) 1998 - Current. A fully integrated database containing thousands of curriculum-targeted primary documents, biographies, topical essays, background information, critical analyses, full-text coverage of 200 magazines, over 10,000 photographs and illustrations, and more than 8 hours of audio and video clips.
- What Do I Read Next? Looking for something to read? Enhanced with author biographies, What Do I Read Next? online is an easy and fun-to-use one-stop source for expert recommendations on classic, mainstream or genre fiction and nonfiction titles covering a wide range of subjects for all age levels.
- ¡Informe! (Revistas en Español) 1998 - Current Investiga las noticias y eventos más corrientes, la información de negocios del momento, los artículos de salud más importantes, temas de cultura popular y muchas otras materias incluidas en las revistas hispánicas más populares.
- InfoTrac OneFile 1980 - Current Search humanities, education, business, science, current events, art, politics, economics, social science, law, health care, computers, technology, environmental issues, and general interest topics.
- Expanded Academic ASAP: 1980 - Current From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers - with full text and images!
- General Reference Center Gold 1980 - Current Use this general interest/business database to search magazines, newspapers, and reference books for information on business, industry, current events, the arts, science, entertainment, etc.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library Search the contents of multiple science, health, and history reference books.
- History Reference Center For history buffs, class projects and assignments, this is the first place to look! Provides articles from magazines, journals, reference and non-fiction books; biographies, documents and speeches; maps and photographs. Also includes film and video clips of social, political and cultural historical events of the 20th Century from 1893 to 1985.
- Professional Collection Created especially for professionals in education. Find articles about school law, child & adolescent psychology, human development, substance abuse, health/ nutrition/ fitness, learning disabilities, and more.
- Science Reference Center Start here for science projects and research needs! Provides articles from scientific reference books, magazines, journals, biographies and images. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, physics, technology, and wildlife.
- Student Research Center combines the same quality content available in the History and Science Reference Centers with a more student-friendly search interface.
- Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated profiles of over 72,000 individuals from antiquity to the present.
- Business & Company Resource Center Comprehensive company and industry information.
- Discovering Collection: A collection of 21 databases covering history, literature, biography, science and social studies
- Expanded Academic ASAP: 1980 - Current From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers - with full text and images!
